Skip to Main Content
Sept. 1, 2022

Selection committee now includes regional chamber representatives

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2022 Humanitarian Award to honor a southwest Missouri resident for service that contributes to the betterment of their community. The deadline for nominations is noon, Friday, Sept. 23. Nominations must be made online at

The recipient of the Humanitarian Award will be honored with others recognized in celebration of National Philanthropy Day on Nov. 15. The CFO is partnering with the Missouri Ozark Region Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals to honor a wide range of individuals and organizations for their contributions to the region.

An independent committee organized by the Springfield Area Chamber of Commerce will evaluate the nominations. This year, the committee is expanded to include chamber representatives from Branson, Joplin and West Plains who will join members of the clergy from Springfield. Springfield Chamber Chair-elect Joselyn Baldner will chair the committee.

Humanitarian nominees should be “an individual who has the courage to take decisive action, the wisdom to face aggressive challenges, and the willingness to sacrifice to affect these causes that have a long-term impact on the betterment of the community.” The award is designed to recognize a living person; posthumous nominations are not accepted. More information about the criteria is available at

The National Philanthropy Day luncheon will take place at the White River Conference Center on Tuesday, Nov. 15. The winner will be honored there with a cash award, which the recipient has traditionally donated to a favorite charity.

This year will mark the 33rd annual Humanitarian Award. The award was founded by the late Jewell Thompson Schweitzer, a significant donor to the CFO. She left several bequests in her estate to the CFO that have significantly increased the CFO’s unrestricted grantmaking endowment, along with endowments designated for First & Calvary Presbyterian Church, Drury University, Cottey College and College of the Ozarks.

Nominate Now Learn More

Support our mission by becoming a donor today.

Donate Now