Nevada/Vernon County Community Foundation

A trusted resource for philanthropy in Nevada and Vernon County.

Our Mission

Nevada hero field

Our mission is to enhance the quality of life in Nevada and Vernon County through resource development, community grantmaking, collaboration and public leadership.

Since our founding on Oct. 12, 2020, Nevada/Vernon County Community Foundation has distributed more than $24,000 in grants to the community. We now hold assets totaling $165,305 as of June 30, 2021.

Our Leadership

Greg hoffman nevada 800x800

Greg Hoffman, President

Our foundation is led by members of our community.

  • Greg Hoffman, President
  • Kelly Ast, Vice President
  • Wayne Reinert, Treasurer
  • Sheree Gayman, Secretary
  • Betsy Curtis
  • Amanda Fisher
  • Jennifer Gundy
  • Henry Hodes
  • George Knox
  • Myles Miller
  • Steve Russ
  • Cindy Thompson
  • Amyl Bishop, Foundation Coordinator

Nevada vernon county board photos

The founding board of the Nevada/Vernon County Community Foundation. Top row, left to right: Greg Hoffman, president; Kelly Ast, vice president; Wayne Reinert, treasurer; Sheree Gayman, secretary; and Betsy Curtis. Bottom row, left to right: Amanda Fisher; Jennifer Gundy; George Knox; Neal Quitno; Steve Russ; and Cindy Thompson. (Not pictured: Henry Hodes)

CFO honors Greg Hoffman for board member excellence at annual affiliate conference

Greg Hoffman, left, accepted his Board Member of Excellence Award from Joe Kammerer, CFO Central Region Manager.

April 27, 2022 — Greg Hoffman, president of the Nevada/Vernon County Community Foundation’s board of directors, received a Board Member Award of Excellence from the Community Foundation of the Ozarks.

He was one of five board leaders honored within the CFO’s network of regional affiliate foundations. The awards were presented on April 25 during the CFO’s Affiliate Appreciation Conference in Springfield.

“Greg has worked tirelessly attending community meetings, events, and speaking to groups and organizations,” said Alice Wingo, CFO Vice President of Affiliates. “One recent example of Greg’s fierce loyalty to NVCCF was his determination to attend an important meeting regarding a new community project that the affiliate is spearheading — after having shoulder surgery that same morning.”

Hoffman has been the driving force behind the formation of the Nevada/Vernon County affiliate. As a result of his hard work, it celebrated a very successful first year in October 2021.

“One cannot serve on a foundation board without first deeply loving one’s community,” CFO President Brian Fogle said. “That love is expressed through their excellent leadership and dedication that make their communities a better place to live for all their neighbors.”

Nevada/Vernon County Community Foundation awards Coover Regional Recovery Grants

June 21, 2021 — With its first grants back to the community, the Nevada/Vernon County Community Foundation has awarded $19,960 to 13 nonprofit agencies for recovery needs related to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The grants are made possible by the Louis L. and Julia Dorothy Coover Charitable Foundation, managed by Commerce Trust Company in partnership with the Community Foundation of the Ozarks. The NVCCF is one of 30 CFO affiliate foundations to receive $10,000 in Coover grant funding this year and chose to use its award to hold a community recovery grant round for eligible nonprofits.

The NVCCF also supplemented the Coover Regional Recovery Grant program with funds from its community grantmaking endowment, which was supported by a matching gift from Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Kansas City.

The NVCCF awarded its Coover Regional Recovery Grants to:

  • BSA Troop 42: $1,200 for camp fees
  • Bronaugh Athletic Booster Club: $1,000 for operational support
  • Children's Center of Southwest Missouri: $3,000 for operational support
  • City of Walker: $1,500 for repairs to the city park shelter house
  • Community Council of Performing Arts: $2,000 to support the Live Streaming Project
  • Council on Families in Crisis Inc.: $2,500 for operational support of the Moss House
  • McGennis Youth Center & Agricultural Park: $500 to support the McGennis Youth Center Fishing Derby
  • Nevada Baseball Inc.: $1,000 for summer baseball enhancements
  • Nevada Vernon County Lions: $1,000 to support its service projects
  • On My Own Inc.: $1,000 to support transportation during the pandemic
  • Quality Products Inc.: $2,260 for additional shredders at the sheltered workshop
  • Vernon County Ministerial Alliance: $2,000 to support its Emergency Relief Fund
  • Vernon County Youth Task Force: $1,000 for operational support

In addition to this grantmaking, the NVCCF used $3,000 of its Coover Regional Recovery funds to support a campaign of public service announcements to spread awareness of how to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

“One of the benefits of the CFO’s affiliate network is the ability of local leaders to make decisions in the best interests of their own communities,” said Jill Reynolds, senior vice president at Commerce Trust. “Using leaders across rural Missouri to award Coover Charitable Foundation grant dollars has contributed to this partnership’s success in distributing more than $7 million since 2002.”

Support our mission by becoming a donor today.
Donate Now